Blue Flag Beaches and Marinas in Ireland for 2018


There are Blue Flag beaches all across Ireland. They vary from heavily populated large sandy beaches to remote small rocky beaches. From the spectacular beaches of Donegal in the north west to the welcoming beaches of Wexford in the sunny south east, Ireland’s award beaches have something to offer everyone with; excellent water quality; life guarded swimming areas; world renowned surf and long sandy shores.

The Blue Flag season for beaches in Ireland coincides with the bathing season which runs from the beginning of June to the middle of September. Blue Flag sites are only awarded for one season at a time.  The marina season extends until December. These Blue Flag sites have been awarded due to their adherence to a strict number of criteria covering:

  • Environmental Information and Education
  • Water quality
  • Safety and Services
  • Environmental Management

During the season inspectors will assess each Blue Flag beach and marina to ensure compliance with the criteria. In Ireland, we are particularly fortunate to have a varied and beautiful coastline with many pristine beaches that are open to the public to enjoy. To ensure their standard we continue to make strident efforts to protect and improve our waters. This will ensure that we, and future generations, can continue to enjoy this wonderful resource.

  • Templetown
  • Port
  • Clogherhead

Fingal County Council

  • Portmarnock


Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council

  • Seapoint
  • Bray South Promenade
  • Greystones South Beach
  • Brittas Bay North Beach
  • Brittas Bay South Beach
  • Ballymoney North
  • Courtown
  • Morriscastle
  • Ballinesker
  • Curracloe
  • Rosslare
  • Carne
  • Counsellors’ Strand
  • Dunmore East
  • Tramore
  • Clonea
  • Ardmore
  • Redbarn
  • Garrylucas
  • Garretstown
  • Inchydoney
  • Owenahincha
  • Tragumna
  • Barleycove
  • Derrynane
  • Ballinskelligs
  • White Strand
  • Kells
  • Rossbeigh
  • Inch
  • Ventry
  • Magherabeg
  • Fenit
  • Banna
  • Ballyheigue
  • Ballybunion South
  • Ballybunion North
  • Cappa Pier
  • Kilkee
  • Whitestrand
  • Spanish Point
  • Miltown Malbay
  • Lahinch
  • Fanore
  • Ballycuggeran
  • Mountshannon

Galway County Council

  • Bathing Place at Portumna
  • Loughrea Lake
  • Traught
  • Trá Mhór, Coill Rua
  • Trá an Dóilin
  • Cill Mhuirbhigh

Galway City Council

  • Sathill
  • Silver Strand
  • Carrowmore
  • Bertra
  • The Harbour
  • Mulranny
  • Dooega
  • Keel
  • Keem
  • Dugort
  • Golden Strand
  • Mullaghroe
  • Elly Bay
  • Ross
  • Rosses Point
  • Bundoran
  • Rossnowlagh
  • Murvagh
  • Fintra
  • Naran / Portnoo
  • Carrickfinn
  • Killahoey
  • Marblehill
  • Downings
  • Magherwarden Portsalon
  • Culdaff
  • Stroove


Kilmore Quay Marina

New Ross ‘Three Sisters’ Marina


Royal Cork Yacht Club

Kinsale Yacht Club




Killinure Point


Greencastle Marina